Elected Directors for 2019 - 2020

The following seven (7) REALTOR® members were elected to a two year term as Directors of the LAR on September 20, 2018:
  1. Cynthia Arriaga - Exit Realty of Lubbock
  2. Donna Sue Clements - RE/MAX Lubbock
  3. Amy Cox - Coldwell Banker Rick Canup, REALTORS®
  4. Coby Crump - Exit Realty of Lubbock
  5. Michael Hutton - Century 21 John Walton, REALTORS®
  6. Jacoby Madewell - Keller Williams Realty
  7. Lisa Sellers - The Sellers Realty

They will be installed along with the 2019 Officers at the LAR annual Installation and Awards Banquet on January 11, 2019 at the Eberley Brooks Event Center.


  • President Elect - Ken Harlan, RE/MAX Lubbock
  • Secretary/Treasurer - Mark McMillan, Coldwell Banker Rick Canup, REALTORS®
  • The 2019 President will be current President Elect - Vanessa Dirks, RE/MAX Lubbock. According to the LAR bylaws, the President Elect automatically ascends to President. 
They will serve with the following REALTORS® who were elected in 2017 for a two (2) year term, 2018 - 2019:
  1. Rich Eberhardt - RE/MAX Lubbock
  2. Kim Flenniken - McDougal, REALTORS®
  3. Ginger Robertson - Coldwell Banker Rick Canup, REALTORS®
  4. Teresa Smith - Exit Realty of Lubbock
  5. Rhonda Vanderburg - The WestMark Companies
Texas Association of REALTORS® Directors serving as Ex-Officio Directors through 2019:
  • Tim Garrett - NextHome CORE Realty
  • Ken Harlan - RE/MAX Lubbock

Five Scholarship Recipients - the John S. Walton Educational Foundation


WaltonJohn web

Five one thousand dollar ($1,000) scholarships were awarded to full time students pursuing higher education at Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and South Plains College for the 2017-2018 school year. Over twenty applications were submitted but unfortunately, the Foundation does not have the resources to award scholarships to all applicants. These individuals were selected based on their GPA, their essay, resume and recommendation letters.

2018 Scholarship Recipients

  1. Brittney Brozo - Texas Tech University
  2. Ayreli Calderon - South Plains College
  3. Blanca Espinoz - South Plains College
  4. Lexie Harlan - Texas Tech University
  5. Rebecca Morrow - Lubbock Christian University
  6. Silas Sonnenberg - Texas Tech University
  7. Jad Zeitouni - Texas Tech University

2017 Scholarship Recipients

  1. Aubrey Brozo - Texas Tech University
  2. Hannah Fleenor - Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
  3. Lexie Harlan - Texas Tech University
  4. Jared Brogen Johnson - South Plains College
  5. Daisy Martinez - Texas Tech University

About the foundation: The foundation is funded through the generosity of the Lubbock Association of REALTORS®, its members and outside donations.  It was established in 1981 during Mr. Walton's year as President of the Lubbock Association of REALTORS® as simply, the Lubbock Association of REALTORS® Education Foundation. The Trustees of the Foundation saw fit to rename it in 2016 in memory and honor of Mr. Walton.  Mr. Walton, a 40 year REALTOR® Emeritus member of the association, dedicated countless hours of service to the Lubbock, Texas and National Association of REALTORS®. He served as the President of the Lubbock Association of REALTORS in 1981, President of the Texas Association of REALTORS® in 1999, and was appointed to the Texas Real Estate Commission by Governor Rick Perry from 2001 to 2007. He was appointed as Chairman of the Commission by Governor Perry in 2004. Mr. Walton loved this community and the REALTOR® profession and the foundation strives to honor his legacy. 

REALTOR vs. Licensee

It's a common misconception. Consumers think anyone that has a real estate salesman or broker licensee is a REALTOR®. But only members of the National Association of REALTORS® are allowed to call themselves a REALTOR®, which make you MORE than JUST a licensee.

Download the logos from the NAR website here.

Top 5 Things You Need to Know About the REALTOR® Trademarks:

Read more